Victoria’s tourism industry shines at the 2013 Victorian Tourism Awards

Minister Louise Asher and winners

Minister Louise Asher and winners

Victoria’s leading tourism operators were recognised at the 29th RACV Victorian Tourism Awards Gala, which took place at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on Monday 11 November 2013.

The black tie event was a glamorous affair with a live orchestra on stage throughout the night and a special live performance from Queenie van de Zandt – a leading cast member from the acclaimed theatre show KING KONG Live on Stage. The MC for the evening was media personality Giaan Rooney.

The awards program attracts and promotes the ‘Best in State’ tourism operators running first class businesses across Regional Victoria and Melbourne. There were over 90 entrants across 32 categories for this year’s awards with a wide spread of representation across the State.

Big winners on the night included Melbourne Zoo who took out the award for Major Tourist Attraction, with the Zoo’s 150th anniversary campaign playing a winning part. The Victorian Racing Club also picked up the Major Festivals and Events award for their work with the Spring Racing Carnival.

Three businesses were inducted into the RACV Victorian Tourism Awards Hall of Fame for winning their category for three consecutive years. They were:

Other major winners included:

  • Central Deborah Goldmine – Heritage and Cultural Tourism
  • Grampians Tourism – Destination Marketing
  • Kryal Castle Adventure Park and Resort – New Tourism Development
  • Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre – Business Tourism
  • Peninsula Hot Springs – Tourism Attraction
  • RACV Cobram Resort – Tourist and Caravan Parks
  • Hilton Melbourne South Wharf – Luxury Accommodation
  • Enchanted Adventure Garden – Adventure Tourism
  • Stillwater at Crittenden – Tourism Restaurants and Catering Services
  • Craig Opie – Outstanding Contribution by an Individual

The winners will now represent Victoria at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards in Sydney in February 2014.

For a full list of winners and finalists visit

You can republish the text of this article online or in print for free with attribution. You just have to credit us by linking to us at if in Australia or if elsewhere. Full licence details.